America's Oldest Rowing Club
Ever Since 1838

New NBC Records: All-Time Club Water Miles: 108,192.0; 17,333,000 meters for the month of January.

Providence/Feb 2: It was a great turnout for the Boat Club’s Annual Awards Party. An excellent array of dishes and beverages with a good deal of convivial conversation within the outstanding setting of Ira Garber’s studio. There are miles and miles to discuss, but first there are also meters, and lots of them. Eric Watne was inspired two years ago to enter the January Virtual Team Challenge (January 1-31) which comprises many entrants from the entire Concept2 world. Yes, the world as on the earth itself. Eric formed a NBC team last year that did quite well, but this year’s team blew it away: 17,333,000 Team Meters pulled by 87 athletes. The largest group yet. The team average per athlete was 199,000 meters, the highest ever. NBC finished 12th out of 566 teams, including the Virtual Teams, and finished 6th among the 136 on-the-water rowing teams. For those who attained the top numbers of meters, Eric handed out appropriate prizes, which probably should have included new JL gelpads. 

Leading the women, was the 665,000 pulled by Alexandra DeShaw, a Classical High School student, who not only had the highest number of NBC meters, she was also the highest meter-making junior rower in the world. Second and third place went to the rowing sisterhood of Danilyn (555,317) and Suzannah Rutherford (473,734). Charles Whiten, with 1,024,000 meters was first for the NBC and 15th out of 7737 athletes worldwide. Chris Fay (654,321) was second and George Calise (533,017) third.  Other top finishers were: Eric Watne, #6 (479,617); Dave Rand, #7 (474,734); Suzannah Rutherford, #8; Greg Hoffman, #9 (454,935); and Jack Stone, #10 (414,000). Congratulations to everyone else who rowed. Keep up the good work throughout the year so that you will be in even better shape for January 1, 2019! 

Following Eric's presentation, President Chris Bardt proceeded to the main event for the evening by presenting our top awards. Mileage was first. In 2015 women outpaced the men by 3,763.7 miles. Last year it was by 11,182.1 miles. This year, the women crushed the men by 19,836.6 miles!  The large amount of women’s sweep rowing is having a very positive effect for the ladies’ mileage total.

Going into the individual mileage awards: The top three mileage makers for the women first place went to Joan Martin (2,333.7), second for Anne Hird (1,875.5), and third for Amy Abbot (1,824.7). For the men, Bjorn Sandstede (2,296.3) was first, Dan Gorriaran (1,908.7) second, and Mitch Berkson (1,792.5). The cumulative total of all NBC members was a new club record of 108,192 miles, exceeding 2016 by 4,791 miles.

Chris then presented the NBC Championship Sculling Awards to Corlis Gross for the women and Jack Luby for the men. These awards are won through competition in the open single sculling events for the Mayor’s Cup and the Sweeps & Sculls Regattas. The top NBC sculler in each event becomes the winner.  Corlis is now a four-time sculling champion, which equals the same number won by her mother, Robin. Corlis was not present to accept her award, so proud dad, Peter, a two-time winner himself, graciously accepted Corlis’ medal.  

The next announcement was the Marguerite Chadwick Award presented to Frances Middendorf. The Chadwick Award goes to the Outstanding Masters Sweeps Oarswomen selected because of her ability to contribute to her team’s general enjoyment of rowing, her ability to consolidate and inspire her team’s effort in competition, her individual effort and improvement, and her overall endeavor to strengthen her boat’s team work. The women sweeps rowers made the selection.

The C.P. Williamson Award is was presented to Eric Watne. The Board of Governors determines the winner of the Williamson Award, which is presented to the sculler who both successfully competed in the latest Head of the Charles Regatta and whose good sportsmanship embodies the spirit of Charlie Williamson, one of the key members of the NBC in the 1960’s and early 1970’s.

Finally, the Bjorn Sandstede was the winner of the Albin Moser Trophy for Meritorious Service, which is also determined by the Board of Governors. As its name implies, this award is presented to the person who has provided outstanding service to the Boat Club. This is Bjorn’s second Moser Award. This year he implemented and oversaw a great deal of the transformation of our financial processes, the changeover of the website, and managing the financials of the fundraising involved with the road project.

The grand finale for the program the auction for the specially reserved parking space and the #2A oar slot. This is what really counts. Dan Gorriaran once again presided as the auctioneer. Kit Wise retained his parking space. Likewise for Daniela Roop who won the oar slot represented by a proxy, Kim Worrell.

Many thanks to Kim Worrell for coordinating this effort, and thanks to all of the members who brought food and beverages. Thanks again to Ira Garber who provided a wonderful and spacious setting. If you wish to see who made the top 20 in mileage for the men and the women, you will need to check out the boathouse bulletin boards. Congratulations to all!