America's Oldest Rowing Club
Ever Since 1838

President Jamie Reavis Leads 2010 NBC Awards Recipients

Jamie Reavis, our outgoing President, was the recipient of the Moser Award for Meritorious Service to the NBC. Dan Gorriaran, Master of Ceremonies and returning President, recognized Jamie Reavis' 6 years of dedicated service as President of the Board of Governors. “Under his stewardship the club has continuously exceeded our goals and he has always guided the club with a steady hand. He will be missed by the BOG. My hope is he will stay as involved with the organization as he's been for the past 20 years.” Sue Erkkinen won the Marguerite Chadwick Award which is presented to the outstanding masters sweeps oarswoman. Sue was selected for her contributions to the team's general enjoyment of rowing, her ability to consolidate and inspire her team's effort in competition, her individual effort and improvement, and her overall endeavor to strengthen her boat's teamwork. John Ryan was the winner of the C. P. Williamson Award which is presented annually to the sculler who both successfully competed at the Head of the Charles and whose good sportsmanship embodies the spirit of C. P. Williamson, one of the key NBC members who helped keep it going in the middle of the 20th Century.

Among the mileage award winners, Andy Washburn’s 2048.7 miles took the gold and establishes him as the 2010 mileage leader. Second and third place among the men were Scott Roop (1862.1) and Mitch Berkson (1785.5). Within the ranks of the women Gayle Simmons’ 1714.4 miles took the gold and set a new record for the women by replacing Carol Browning (1677 in 2009). Second and third went to Carol Browning (1612.0) and Kyna Leski (1515.5). Dan Gorriaran, who did an outstanding job making the presentations, was quick to note that the women are almost equal in total mileage to the men. Statistically, there was only a 4% separation between the two in 2010 mileage (52% for the men and 48% for the women. In addition, it has become increasingly more difficult to crack into the top ten without delivering lots of on-the-water mileage. Historian's Note: After checking our club annals, the all-time mileage leader for miles on the Seekonk River continues to be Richard Lownes' 2563 miles gained in 1989.

Total mileage for the Boat Club in 2010 was 70,190.6.

Last, but certainly not least, our Men's Championship Singles Award winner was Anders Weiss. Anders, who is now a senior at Barrington High School, started rowing only two years ago. After learning the basics in the development program, Anders joined Peter Wilhelm's NBC Juniors. He then pursued sculling with a venegance. He was top NBC sculler in the Mayor's Cup by placing third, narrowly edging out NBC's David Clark by .3 seconds. During the Sweeps and Sculls, David Clark's second place finish in the Men's Singles made him the highest ranking NBC sculler for that regatta. Meanwhile, Weiss was winnng medals at the Club Nationals (you can read about those below). Since there needs to be a clear winner for the NBC Championship Trophy, this prompted a race off between Clark and Weiss. The final result was that Weiss was the clear winner. Congratulations to Anders! Not to be stuck on one sport, he has since turned his fall athletic interests to soccer, where he was the goalee for the State Champion Barrington Soccer Team, is now swimming for Barrington. But he has spinning the erg in his spare time so, it seems that Anders is saying, "I'll be back."

Unfortunately, for 2010 we have no winner of the NBC Women's Championship Trophy. There were no women challengers in the top Women's races for either the Mayor's Cup or the Sweeps and Sculls.

Kim Worrell and Vanessa Ryan also presented Albin Moser a beautiful book which encompasses the research and writing done by Joan Richards and Vanessa that led to Albin’s selection as the 2010 recipient of USRowing’s John J. Carlin Service Award. Albin was very much honored and expressed his thanks to all who contributed to this nomination. “The real honor has been working with each one of you and the many other past and present rowers and scullers. The Narragansett Boat Club is an outstanding organization that comprises a magnificent blend of individuals who dedicate their time, talents, and energy to sport of rowing.”

Many thanks to Ira Garber who provided a great location for the Annual NBC Awards Party and to Kim Worrell, who did a wonderful job organizing this event. It was a great way for all of us to highlight 2010 and to complete yet another week of snowstorms. Now we look forward to a great spring and setting new records.